After reading other blogs for so long, and being asked by my dad how exactly blogs work, I’ve decided to start my own!

I have no idea how often this will be updated, or how many hits I’ll end up with over time, but this is a way for me to share, vent, and get back into the habit of journaling and doing Devotions. I’m hoping to get back into the habit of writing and reading daily, but we’ll have to see… I may end up venting throughout the day! Hah. You never know.

You might be wondering where the name of the blog comes from?

Let me explain.

Actually, just last night I was thinking about blogging, and about the creative titles for blogs that other people have. I wondered what I might call my own blog. And I started thinking.

I’ve got this post-it note on my bedroom wall that says “Treat God with the respect He deserves and watch how absolutely GORGEOUS you become!”, a paraphrase of something I read in a devotional book last summer.

And this past school year, my sister was reading “Captivating” with some girls at church, and I read part of it, too. (Planning on picking it back up soon! That might be mytopic for a while!)

ALSO, I had a mini-conversation about modesty with a friend yesterday afternoon.

Essentially, I want to be respectful in the way that I captivate God, and work on captivating other people (and myself), too. I want to be a woman after God’s own heart. Hopefully this blog will help me reach that goal.

Thus, Respectfully Captivating. Which got shortened to “Respectivating” just because.

I was also thinking about this website I frequent called Operation Beautiful. Maybe you’ve heard of it? It’s awesome. …Anyway. I was thinking about the mission of OB, to end “fat talk” and remind people that they’re loved and stuff.

Combine that with a few Bible verses (Song of Songs 2:2, 4:7, Psalm 45:11, Ephesians 1:9-10, 1 Peter 3:3-4, Proverbs 31:30, Ecclesiastes 3:11, etc) and you’ve got one heck of a mission, don’t you think? 🙂

So this will be my journey, my exodus from teenagedom to adulthood, and the thoughts and discoveries that go along with it. Care to join me? It’s going to be a bumpy ride!

