March 1, 2010
Tyra Show this afternoon.
Teenagers and sex and STDs and teen pregnancies.

Wow. The statistics that the show gathered are incredible.

But it all goes along with what we’ve been talking about the last few months in Youth Group.

Pressure.
Acceptance.
Love.

These girls on the panel who’ve had sex say they felt, essentially, like crap after. They felt bad about it, but wanted that connection and acceptance.
They claim you should have sex when you’re truly in love, and that anything before about 15 is stupid, that a 12, 13, 14-year-old doesn’t know what being in love is. (EXCUSE ME? Look at yourself. I as an almost-19-year-old don’t know what being in love is like, so what the flip do you know??)

But guess what?

Love isn’t forceful.
Love isn’t “Yeah, you know what, I loved you yesterday, but today…notsomuch. Seeya.”
Love doesn’t say “If you love me, you’ll have sex with me.”
No. Nonononononononono.
Not. At. ALL.

Love is patient, love is kind. Love does not envy or boast. It is not proud, rude, or self-seeking. It keeps no record of wrongs. It does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. Love always protects, always trust, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. [1 Corinthians 13:4-8]
(All from memory. Might’ve missed a bit or messed up the order of adjectives or something… But close!)

Love is unconditional.

“Agape doesn’t love somebody because they’re worthy.
Agape makes them worthy by the strength and power of its love.
Agape doesn’t love somebody because they’re beautiful.
Agape loves in such a way that it makes them beautiful.”
— Rob Bell (Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality And Spirituality)

It’s divine, unconditional, self-sacrificing, active, volitional, and thoughtful.
It’s not just natural affection (storge), or even friendshippy, brotherly love (philea), and it’s most certainly not purely sexual (eros). It’s more than that.

Agape Love

“No matter the cost.”
Agape is unconditional,
Never-ending,
And sacrificial.

It’s dedicated,
“I would die for you,”
Everlasting love
That is forever true.

Not just friendship,
Attraction, or brotherly love;
“You’re everything to me.”
A love from above.

Christ is that love,
That Forever Friend,
Who assures us that
“I would do it all again.”

And yes, I wrote that. [At work.] Words kinda just… drop into my lap and rhymes appear and… stuff like that happens. After Googling agape. […] In, what? Twenty minutes to half an hour? Maybe not even that. I dunno. I started it and kept going back to it when I thought of new stuff that would work better. Maybe 10-15 minutes total?
I kinda liked the quotation thing. I dunno why, but it was something I don’t think I’ve never done before and thought was interesting. So I did it. 🙂

Sooo, yeah. That’s true love.

It doesn’t limit you or give conditions. It’s not “I’ll love you if (you did this, this, this, and this).”; it’s “I love you because (you’re incredible, my best friend, beautiful, etc.) and I’ll love you forever.”

No threats.
No intentional harm.
No fear of rejection.

Doesn’t that sound awesome? And so much better than what life can be?

