So, my mother, sister, and two other girls went shopping today.

They got home a few hours ago and now we’ve decided to eat ice cream.

Dad usually doesn’t eat any or says something like “I shouldn’t eat sweets tonight” or whatever because he’s trying to eat healthy and la-di-dah. In reality, he’s lost a little TOO much weight trying to gain muscle. He’s never been big, but he’s thinner now than he was when my parents got married, I think. =O

Anyway.

It’s Ma I wanna tell you about.

Dad and I pull out the ice cream and through the sounds of Jonny Diaz’s “More Beautiful You” (which has been on Repeat in my ears for quite some time as I read my Op B book), I hear Mom say “I feel bad about what I’ve been eating” and that she should eat the frozen yogurt in the freezer as opposed to ice cream.

REALLY?

My OB book just got here today (I’m in the Food chapter, for crying out loud), and my mother is Fat Talking? Are you freaking kidding me????

So I walk over to Mom after putting away the tub of ice cream and give her a hug.

“I love you. I think you’re pretty,” I say.

And what does she say?

She says, “You’re very kind” in disbelief and the subject kinda drops.

Seriously, Mom?

I’ve been working at encouraging myself and others for a freaking YEAR and you’re “I ate bad stuff today, I shouldn’t eat any more”-ing?

UGH.

I want to cry.

In fact, I’ve changed rooms to type this in order to went privately.

Are you KIDDING ME?!

My mother is beautiful, whether she believes it or not.

And she doesn’t.

I don’t think she’s ever believed it.

I want to change that.

A few years ago, I left a note on her nightstand telling her that I appreciated her.

The next day she gave me a hug and thanked me.

It is now my mission to make her feel beautiful.

It starts at home, people.

If you’ve got someone around you Fat Talking (“I’m ugly” ; “I hate (this) about my body” etc), turn them around!

Remind them constantly that they’re worth it.

“Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you.” (Dr. Suess)

“On a scale of one to ten, you’re infinity and beyond!” (“Anonymous”)

