Is it Thursday yet??

Can Love Bomb be EVERY day? Or at least twice a week or something?

First off:

I love, love, LOVE encouraging people. I want to do it more than just once a week.

I guess I can encourage via OB and Facebook and email and in person, too, but… Love Bomb is so awesome.

Yesterday, Katie’s blog (http://katiebeecreative.com/?p=2571) was flooded with around 200 encouraging posts. And I’m sure more will be coming.

That’s awesome.

Second:

When I was thinking about starting this blog, I came up with the concept of “Flawless Friday,” based on Song of Solomon 4:7, “All beautiful you are, my darling; there is no flaw in you.”

I was going to wait until I had more commenting followers, but now that I’m thinking about encouraging, I guess I might as well do it.

The concept of Flawless Friday is still rough, not quite fleshed out yet. I just had the idea and thought it would be a good encouraging thing.

My idea was to do something once a week, in this case Friday.

I’m still not sure what I’m going to do with it; maybe link to things that remind me of flawlessness? Idk yet.

But for starters, what is the definition of “flawless”?

(I apologize for the crappiness of this next part: I started typing this this morning and must’ve forgotten to click “Save Draft”… :()

I suppose to know what flawless is, you have to know what a flaw is.

Do, here you go.

So, if a flaw is something that marrs, that means to be flawless you have to be, essentially, pretty much perfect.

Which we all know is impossible.

This next bit is something I wrote back in January-ish:

Song of Songs 2:2 says that “like a lily among thorns is my darling among the maidens.”

Later on the Lover calls his Beloved “my sister, my bride.”

In chapter four, verse seven, the Lover says “All beautiful you are, my darling; there is no flaw in you.”

WOW. What a statement! His Beloved is flawless. What we girls would give to hear that…

Chapter six verses four and five have the Lover declaring his Beloved beautiful and overwhelming:

“You are beautiful, my darling, as Tirzah [(meaning: “beauty” or “pleasure”)], lovely as Jerusalem, majestic as troops with banners. Turn your eyes from me; they overwhelm me.”

The Beloved one says repeatedly “Do not arouse or awaken love until it so desires” and is constantly longing for the Lover, always searching for him.

She says that he is “altogether lovely” and “my friend.” (5:16)

7:10 has her stating that “I belong to my lover, and his desire is for me.”

Their love is exclusive, and no one can separate them. She wishes to get away with him, to be only with him.

In 8:1, the Beloved one says “If only you were to me like a brother,” indicating that their relationship is close, that she wants her Lover to be a protector.

This theme carries into the rest of the chapter, and into the Friends’ portions. In 8:8 & 9, the Friends say “We have a young sister…What shall we do for our sister for the day she is spoken for? If she is a wall, we will build towers of silver on her. If she is a door, we will enclose her with panels of cedar.”

The Friends may be brothers, as they were often guardians (protectors) of their sisters.

We see this in the story of Dinah, Jacob’s only daughter (born of Leah, the sister he didn’t want to marry…Irony much?), in Genesis chapter 34. She is “violated”—raped–by Shechem, who decides he wants her to be his wife. In verse seven, Dinah’s brothers are furious with Shechem and deceive him. They get the men in Shechem’s town to agree to circumcision in exchange for Dinah’s marriage to Shechem… and then kill all of the men in the city while they’re still in pain from their circumcisions.

This was an extreme example of protection, and Jacob is angry with his sons for taking it as far as they did (verse 30), but you can see why they did it. They were the protectors, and Dinah was their only sister. They felt obligated to get back at the man who violated her.

I believe that all girls feel this way—want a guy to be their protector, to treasure them for their attitude, faith, and heart rather than their outward appearance, and for their inner beauty to outshine their outward appearance and make them overwhelmingly beautiful.

And guys work at it. They love action movies, video games, being rescuers and protectors.

I know what it’s like to be a teenage girl, to struggle with the media’s messages of beauty versus what the Bible says, to think that you’re not worth anything, to always compare yourself to others. I know what it’s like to constantly think someone else is prettier, smarter, more spiritual, funnier, and all those other comparisons we make. I make those comparisons every day, and I let my brain convince me that it’s true, that I’m not worth anything. I allow my brain to win out over what the Bible says over and over, that I am special and unique and treasured for who I am.

I know what it’s like to relate life to song lyrics and quotes—those about longing and worthlessness and hoping for the future and all of that. Too often I let the depressing songs and lyrics drag me down instead of going for hopeful, inspirational tunes.

Until this last year, I struggled IMMENSELY with self-confidence and image. I’m still struggling, but after CHIC I was convicted; it tugged at my heart and made me realize that I need to change my outlook on life. I am a princess, a treasured jewel in my Father’s eyes. I am special, unique, my own beautiful person. I need to be reminded of that often, and so do other people.

True, I’m still struggling with the thoughts, have trouble accepting that God sees me as perfect just the way I am. But songs like Jonny Diaz’s “More Beautiful You”, Zoegirl’s “Love Me for Me,” the Glee cast’s version of “Keep Holding On,” and several others keep me hoping, keep my spirits up.

There are plenty of other songs about the world’s view of beauty versus God’s, and about His Love: Jonny Diaz’s “Hold Me”; Superchick’s “Princes and Frogs” and “Bowling Ball”; Jump 5’s “Wonderful,” “Diamond,” “Dance With Me” (kind of), “Every Part of Me,” and others.

Bradley Hathaway (whose words Britt introduced me to) writes poems, my favorites being “Manly Man” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJGwVBvJMPM) and “So Do I Love You.”

There are lots out there; those are just the ones I can think of at the moment.

I’m trying to be more positive, more hopeful, more reassuring for others and myself. I’ve gotten into operationbeautiful.com recently, and LOVE it. I have a post-it note on my wall reminding me of Song of Songs 2:2, and have written out several notes that I’ve been sticking in random locations to remind other women that they’re beautiful the way they are.

Proverbs 31:30 says that “Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.” (Thanks for the reminder, Leah!)

1/13/10 thoughts written down at church (some of the music, too…)

Dating = friendship (with another believer whom you trust and get along with really well!) intensified.

I know what it’s like to be a teenage girl—I still am one! I’ve struggled a lot with whether or not I want to date; with temptations and stupid thoughts. I know what it’s like to LONG for a relationship, to want someone to fill the hole and be there for/with you forever.

Though I’ve never dated, I’ve had crushes. I’ve had my heart “broken” (if literally broken, you would die), felt alone and unworthy, useless, unloved.

But God fills the void. (Song of Songs, etc) Over and over again, I return to Song of Songs for its promises; I listen to “More Beautiful You” for encouragement; I check out operationbeautiful.com to see what’s new and how others are spreading the word; I tell God how I feel (not as often as I should, but I’m getting back into the habit!!)

I’m back and forth between two extremes a lot—it’s annoying. Some days I’ll be dead set against dating and marriage (teenage boys—EW!) and others I’ll daydream about it. It gets frustrating, but I’m sure lots of people deal with it. They need to know they’re not alone, and that God is always there for them.

I’d started writing that because I was thinking about our youth group girls, the 12-14 year olds I hang out with on Wednesday nights. We did a follow-up thing after watching To Save A Life, and part of it included having small group time. The first night of follow-up, our youth pastor split us up into groups–I took half the girls, and “Momma” took the other half, while YP took the boys. We were to finish the phrase “If you really knew me…”, and the leaders (me, M, and YP) were to pray for each person as they shared. But my girls all had pretty much the same insecurities: not feeling pretty enough, good enough. And I get that. I struggle with that myself, so I cried a little as I prayed for them, praying that God would remind them that they were good enough, that they were His beautiful daughters.

I think I need to remind myself of that more often, too.

On to the positives of the day!

  • had the day off!!
  • stopped at school and got my books (that’s a pos and neg…)
  • stopped at work and printed a couple pictures (and with said pictures, finished the project I mentioned a few days ago)
  • met a new coworker who was starting today
  • talked to a coworker/friend
  • had pizza for supper!!
  • buh… there were probably more, but I can’t remember them.

So, yeah. More positives as we go on with the “challenge.” Yay!

