Tags

, , , , , ,

In just a few days, it’ll be September 11th, and most of us know what THAT means.

The anniversary of a day that changed America.

Not necessarily THE day that changed America, because there have probably been a few days that have changed our country (like, say, D-Day, the day the Great Depression began, and, of course, the day the Declaration of Independence was signed), but an important day.

A sad day.

A day that my Vis Comm discussed today.

Our journal entry for Thursday is to write about how the imagery of Nine/Eleven affected American culture.

Gotta get on that, I guess.

After class, I came home and grabbed my copy of The Journey: The New Testament and Beyond, which our Junior High students are going through this year. Last year was the Old Testament, and next year it will be the OT again.

Anyway.

We go through a “session” (chapter) a week — well, the kids do journal work and memorize a passage of Scripture to show and say each Wednesday; the Session doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with Wednesday nights, just homework — and this year I decided I needed to get a copy of the book at the beginning of the school year instead of at the end (like I did last year). Lucky for me, YP had like three extra copies! =)

Anyway. In preparation for tomorrow night, I read through Session One, which is essentially an introduction to the book and stuff.

(EDIT: Turns out (after reading the email from YP), I didn’t have to do S1 yet. But being prepared is good, right?) 

This first chapter talks about spending time with God, COMMITTING to take time out each day and read Scripture (the verses that each chapter is designed around) and talk to God.

I don’t know about you, but this is something I struggle with. A lot. I was doing it for a while, and then I stopped, and then… it just fell to pieces. Now I’m trying to get back into the swing of it and I’m like, “OMG I DON’T KNOW IF I CAN DO THIS.” and whatever.

But the book says this:

Should you find yourself struggling, keep this in mind: God wants to spend time with you. God wants you to come to him with all your concerns. Isn’t it amazing that the Creator of the universe loves for us to come to him with all that is on our hearts and minds? And so, when you struggle with your commitment, be encouraged by the fact that your Creator and Savior is waiting for you.

WOW.

Just wow.

That’s something for me to take into consideration.

God is WAITING for me to come to Him.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like to keep people waiting. Ever. I’m EARLY to things.

That should be the attitude I have towards devotions. I should WANT to spend time with God, just as He WANTS to spend time with me.

This week’s passage is Revelation 3:20.

I don’t know if we still do, but we used to have a painting in our church of Jesus standing at a door, knocking and looking quite anxious to get inside. If I remember right, He looks almost nervois about going in, like He’s not sure He’s welcome.

Ouch. That’s a real kick in the head, huh? Jesus doesn’t feel welcomed.

That’s going to change.

For me, at least.

I’m taking time out each day to find things to be thankful for, and now I’m going to take time out to be with God, and to be excited about it!

No more of this “Gah, I have to do devoes” crap.

From this point forward, I’m going to be POSITIVE about time with God, train myself to LOOK FORWARD to it.

What about you?

And you know what, we may not look forward to the anniversary of 9/11, but it’s part of our history. It’s something to embrace and take as a stepping stone.

In my opinion, anyway.

Sure, I was in fifth grade and thought it was terrible at the time.

But now, I look back and see something that made our country stronger.

And that’s what time with God does, too.

I may not be thrilled with the idea of taking five minutes out of my not-so-busy days, but in the end it’s going to make me better.

