Tags

, , , , , , ,

Good morning!

Today is Friday, and you know what that means!

FAILING MY MATH TEST!

YAY!

(Shut up. I’m owning my flaws.)

No, not really.

It’s FLAWLESS FRIDAY. =)

I’m going to study a bit after I get done with this, don’t worry.

I got up a half hour (er, 20 minutes; hit the snooze (is your phone’s snooze 10 minutes? Because mine’s is!)) early with the intent of studying.

Yeah right.

That was my plan last night, anyway.

Now plans have changed.

Anyway.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, because it’s something that affects me nearly every day at school. Definitely Tuesdays and Thursdays.

There’s this kid in my History class who is ALWAYS doing something music/rhythm-related.

He’s always tapping his fingers on the table (got told not to yesterday), and it seems like his iPod is permanently attached to his eardrum.

REALLY?

For the first few weeks of class, my reaction was “Are you SERIOUS? We’re in class, you idiot. Turn off your music.”

But now, I’m ignoring it.

Because really?

If it helps him concentrate, whatever.

If he’s failing the class (I doubt it), so what? It’s his problem, not mine.

But I think he’s fine.

After Wednesday night, I’ve changed my opinion to the above.

Wednesday night, I watched people tapping their toes, clapping, and even swaying to the music (I was a toe-tapper, FYI). And I thought, You know what? So what if the kid next to me taps his fingers on the table? Think of it as worship.

I’m not sure what this kid’s religious beliefs are, but I’m going to let you in on something:

God probably smiles anyway.

Because this kid is using what God gave him.

He’s got the gift of rhythm, and he’s using it.

It’s like these guys I work(ed) with: always singing. Not loudly, but just loud enough for me to hear from a few feet away.

It bugged me for a while, but then I decided to see it as a good thing. Now I have to smile and hide a giggle-fit. =P

Speaking of music, check this out!

Here is the song with lyrics.

I ♥ MercyMe.

Of all the earth and skies above, you’re the one He madly loves enough to die!

Jesus didn’t have to die.

He didn’t WANT to be crucified.

He prayed in Gethsemane, Take this cup from me.

He was willing.

That’s what today’s DC journal was about.

Mary was willing.

At first she was hesitant, but when Gabriel reminded her that God can do anything, she was all for it.

Our second question of today was about what God has asked us, and how we’ve responded.

I said that in general, God asks for love from each of us, and that I’ve been working on it.

But I also said that for me personally, He’s been asking patience and willingness to step out of my comfort zone.

That’s something I’m hesitant to do, but I’m getting there.

And you? What has God been asking you to do, and how have you responded?

Now I’m off to cram for my math test!

(Bad idea; prof P would scold me.)

Wish me luck!

