Tags

,

Uffda.

(Shutup, I’m Swedish.)

That’s TOUGH.

I don’t know what I’d do if today was my last day.

If I KNEW it was, that is.

This could be my last day, for all I know.

On the one hand, I’d want to skip school and spend time with family.

But on the other hand, I’d maybe want to go to school and keep my lunch date! And do my best to impact people on campus.

If I knew today was my last day, I would tell my sister that I love her.

I’d hug my mom forever and tell her I love her.

I’d hug Dad and tell him I love him.

I’d tell J how much I’ve enjoyed having her live with us.

I’d Facebook people—change my status to I LOVE YOU or something. (Check!)

I’d call or text my closest friends (whom I’ve not talked to in a while, except for one yesterday) and tell them I love them. (Did last week, but could do again.)

Todays’ chapter of the OMTL book is about roller coasters.

Now, I HATE roller coasters.

I can’t stand them.

I can’t stand going over hills too fast, even if I’m in a car. I hate that floaty, weightless feeling.

Don’t ask why. I just do.

But Kerry (or Chris?) makes a good point:

Life is unpredictable; you never know what’s coming next. Sometimes you go around sharp turns and think the wheels are coming off, but God is an expert driver. He knows right where He’s going, and he’s in total control when you’re afraid.

(S)He goes on to end the chapter with this:

Today I challenge you to face your faiths with ridiculous faith and experience the ride of your life!

The questions at the end of the chapter are for me, but they’re also for you, too!

Shall we do it together?

1. If you were certain your life as you know it would end in a few weeks, what would be your biggest regret? Why? Um. I’d have to say that my biggest regret would probably be not realizing I can impact people until right now. I haven’t always lived like life was important.

2. In what area of your life are you suffering from the Someday Syndrome? Make a decision today never again to use the phrase “someday, when things settle down.” Realize that today is your day! For me, it’s relationships. Like, making new friends and keeping in touch better with current friends.

3. Instead of a roller coaster, what symbol or metaphor would you choose to describe what your life would look like if you were fully engaged? Try to come up with something as unique as you are. Find a picture of that symbol, place it in a spot where you will see it every day, and use it is as a reminder to live with no regrets. Uhhhhh, let’s see. There are some examples on the website, but I’ve always though life was more like a book. God’s the author, and He’s writing my life (and love) story. Books have characters, a plot, themes, and stuff. I actually did my “autobiography” in this theme in high school. One of my classes, we had to create an “autobiography” and have a theme for it, and mine was that life was a book (A Life of Pages). I had the characters, the themes, the plot… It was cool. The teacher liked it. =)

I’ll have to see if I still that project either in print or saved on the desktop and share part of it with you later.

Anyway, life is a book. You never know what’s going to happen, unless you’ve read it before. Only the author knows how it will end (unless I’m the author…). But we’ve never read our stories before. And even if you have read the story before, you always find something new each time. No two books are ever exactly the same. They may have similar (or the same if they’re a series) characters and plots and themes, but everyone’s story is a little different. We all face our own unique challenges, heartaches, and joys. Most books end happily, even if there are struggles. But you never know.

