Today’s 30Days post was about getting out of our comfort zones and facing challenges head-on.

Essentially.

I’ve faced challenges, as we all have.

I’ve gotten through three (four) funerals.

I’m alive. (See Biogrimony for that story.)

I’ve faced some opposition, but I’ve gotten through it.

Last night I challenged myself.

I haven’t been praying as much as I should lately.

Last night I did.

With my JH girls at church, I prayed. I asked two or three times if anyone wanted to volunteer to pray for the prayer requests we’d mentioned. None of them did, so I did it.

They were mostly miniscule little things, which is probably why the girls didn’t want to pray–they thought they were stupid and didn’t need to pray for them.

But I prayed, because they mattered to the person(s) who suggested them.

It wasn’t a super long King James prayer of thees and thous and all of that. It was just a quickly little like ten sentence (max) snippet of “Hi, God. This is what we’d like prayer for. Amen.”

It doesn’t have to be long. God just wants to hear from us. =)

Last night, YP asked a series of questions, and had verses to go along with each question.

1. Where are your roots?

Proverbs 11:28, Jeremiah 17:7-8

2. Is life about me or is life about God?

Colossians 1:15-18, Romans 8:5-8, Matthew 16:24-26, Ephesians 1:11-12

3. Have you ever thought of yourself as a mistake?

Psalm 139:13-16, Ephesians 1:3-6, Isaiah 46:3-4

4. What drives your life?

Resentment and anger?

Job 5:2, Ephesians 4:26-27

Fear?

1 John 4:17-18

Materialism?

Matthew 6:19-20

Need of approval?

Matthew 6:24a

Need for approval outside of God can lead to…

Romans 14:10-12

Instead, lead a God-centered, -focused life!

Ephesians 3:20

5. Is your heart set on eternity or right now?

2 Corinthians 5:1, Philippians 3:7-9, 2 Corinthians 5:6-8

Oh what I would do to have
the kind of faith it takes
To climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves
To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown
Where Jesus is
And he’s holding out his hand

~Casting Crowns’ “Voice of Truth

