Lol.

See here and here for the original and the parody, respectively.

Personally, I like the WAY parody better… But that’s just me.

Anyway. Yoga.

I’ve been reading a lot about it on blogs and stuff.

And guess what?

My History class has been talking about India lately.

Specifically, we’ve been gotten into Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, and some other stuff.

Yoga is a part of that.

My notes say that it’s a “pathway to attain things” (I think nirvana, or good karma for reincarnation, samsara) and that there are four different parts or styles or ways of attaining those things:

  • emotional–prayer/ritual/devotions/temple
  • active–work/good works
  • reflective–guru-meditation
  • experimental–psychological, meditation, trances (no drugs), diet

And then of course you’ve got yoga as in the workout.

But I cannot get what I’ve learned in History, and what Wiki says more in-depthly, out of my head.

I know a lot of people (nearly 16 million in 2008, mostly women) practice yoga in the US, but… I’m not sure I’d be able to, with all the traditional stuff in my head.

Plus I hate exercising. So.

But really, with what I know of yoga, I don’t think I’d be able to get myself to do it.

I’m always going to have the mindset that it’s a way of achieving nirvana, enlightenment, and/or reincarnation, which to me seems ridiculous.

Soyeah. Just wanted to get that out there.

And if any of you yogis have any rebuttals, or explanations of any kind for me, have at it! I’m all for learning.

I do not, however, like being torn apart. So if you could be as gentle as possible, that’d be super…

Now I have to gear up for finishing this paper (about two of 5-7 pages written so far), writing an at-home essay, and studying for a History test… all packed in around a weekend full of working, volunteering, hanging out, and church stuff. Yikes.

At least I got my math homework done. =\

