So, you really ought to check out this post on Faces of Beauty. 😉

Yes, that’s me.

Yes, that’s part of my story.

Yes, it’s all true.

Um, I fell behind in my devotions this week.

I feel bad.

But someone once told me not to beat myself up over missing a few days, so I’m going to try not to.

My phone just went off telling me to do Devos.

I’ve ignored it for the past, what? Five days? But today I’m working on it. I’m doing all five of the days I’ve skipped this week today.

There’s also a Building Block this week, about baptism.

What is the sacrament of baptism?

Baptism is the sacred use of water, commanded by Jesus Christ, to signify God’s cleansing of our sins and our welcome into the family of God.

“Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these new disciples to obey all teh commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” –Matthew 28:19-20

I was not baptized as an infant. Our church will do infant baptisms, but we also do dedications. That’s what happened with me: my parents had me dedicated rather than baptized because they wanted me to make the decision for myself.

We believe that baptism is important, an outward sign of an inward decision, but we do NOT believe that baptism alone will get you to Heaven.

I was baptized only about three years ago, my Junior year of high school. Two of my best friends, my sister, two younger boys, and a dad in the congregation were all baptized that same morning.

Our then-youth pastor (part of my reason for wanting to get baptized when I did–selfish, I know!!) videotaped each of us. It was kinda awkward, but… oh well. It was better than having to stand up in front of the whole church! =P

What about you? Have you been baptized? When and why? What are your beliefs on the subject?

