Something in Hist made me laugh today.

Actually, made the whole class laugh.

But I can’t remember what it was. 😦

One thing that Prof G said was “picked and choosed,” which we all know is not correct.

But there was something else that he said that made us all practically fall out of our chairs, and I can’t remember what it is and now I’m sad.

I’m also not happy with this weather.

Look. At. THIS:

My hometown. Or thereabouts.

Yeah, it’s currently below 40 degrees, with freaking FAST winds.

I’m not happy.

It’s been rainy and yucky lately.

I was literally BLOWN AWAY on my way to my car after classes today. Luckily in the direction of my car, but still. It was PUSHING ME THERE. Winds strong enough to push a 120-pound college kid? No thank you. Papa, please take them away.

I’ve heard tell there have been buses tipped over by the winds a bit south of us.

That’s not cool.

I’m afraid my house is going to blow away. =\ (Irrational, I know… Unless we get a freak tornado. …Crap.)

Buuuuut now for something completely unrelated to the title of this post. Because I’m too lazy to change it.

I’ve probably talked about this before, but I’m going to bring it up again.

Because Miss Caitlin (at HTP) brought it up.

She was talking about makeup, and the line that jumped out at me was the one pertaining to how she (and people in general) don’t feel finished without makeup.

That is exactly why I don’t wear makeup: I don’t want to fall into that line of thinking.

This morning when I looked in the mirror I noticed a pimple pretty much right above my eye.

It bothered me, I won’t deny it, but I didn’t do much to cover it up. (Nobody said anything about it at school. They don’t care. Not everyone is staring at your face like you’re hideous. Stop pretending they are, please?)

Ironic, when you consider that part of the reason I don’t want contacts is because I think I look weird without my glasses.

I’ve never told anybody that before, but it’s true. Sometimes I cringe when I take off my glasses because I look so weird—partly because of these weird circles or lines or something under my eyes. The rims of my glasses seem to cover that part of my face enough that nobody ever comments.

Not that they comment when I’m not wearing my glasses, but still.

It’s a slight source of annoyance.

The MAIN reason I don’t want contacts is because I’d rather deal with nose pieces and fogged-up lenses than with poking myself in the eyes every morning and evening. And the horror stories of losing contacts, or of them getting stuck. Sorry, just can’t handle the thought of it. I’ll stick with glasses, thanks.

I don’t wear makeup.

Like, ever.

Sometimes I think I look stupid the way I am, but I don’t want to fall into the trap of “I CAN’T BE SEEN WITHOUT MAKEUP!!!111!!”

Ewwwwwwww.

I’ll take natural beauty over costly (I work in a freaking drug store; I know what people pay for their “beauty products”) cover-ups ANY day, thankyouverymuch.

To me, makeup is a way of covering up the things you’re not happy with.

ZOMG, PIMPLE?! NEED. MAKEUP.

Et cetera.

Baloney.

We ALL get pimples. It’s part of life. They go away eventually.

We all end up with wrinkles, bags under our eyes, and all that other stuff.

It’s OKAY.

I’m 19 (almost 20, and it makes me feel old to say it—awkward), and I have only SERIOUSLY (as in, not dress-up with my sister when I was seven) worn makeup maybe once in my life, and it was when someone else did for me on a night out in high school. We got dressed up (I borrowed a Prom-ish dress—um. Strange!), and my BFF M (the one who died in the accident) and her mom did my hair and I’m pretty sure we did a little makeup, too.

I felt REALLY AWKWARD, both in the dress and having my makeup done.

(Though aside from the hairspray, my hair looked pretty good! Haha.)

I don’t dress up much, so that was an interesting night. And all we did was walk around the mall in town and eat at Applebee’s! We were random. 🙂 

Someone commented on Caitlin’s post about how makeup can be good for people who have facial burns and whatnot.

Excuse me?

Look at [this guy].

The man has practically NO FACE, but does he hide it?

No.

He owns it.

Or look at [Nick], who was born without limbs.

Does he let it stop him?

Nuh-uh.

Not QUITE the same thing, but still.

And these two men are just the tip of the iceberg.

There are plenty of people out there with similar stories.

Whether they’re self-inflected, accidental, birth “defects” (“God doesn’t make mistakes,” anyone?), or medical mysteries, they don’t have to be hinderances.

They don’t have to be hidden.

They should be shared, cherished, seen as positive and encouraging.

Even on your worst day, you can still make God look His very best.

~I don’t know who said it; just heard it a while back and liked it.

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”

~1st Samuel 16:7

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

~Psalm 139:14

Scars remind us where we’ve been. They don’t have to dictate where we’re going.

~Mandy Patinkin as Jason Gideon, Criminal Minds.

Joy is the best makeup.

~Anne Lamott

