I should add “and abstract thoughts” to that title.

This is what I wanted to say to a guy in my Comm class today.

That and “What are you sending to Hell over there?” and “God’s last name is NOT ‘damnit’.”

Can you guess what he was saying?

I’m tired of it.

This is the same guy who’s been breaking the “no texting in class” rule.

He’s also the one who jumps to answer EVERY question—ALWAYS has an opinion.

You can hear the other campus (it’s kind of a webcam setup) laugh when he raises his hand. I’m not even kidding.

Anyway.

Today toward the end of class I heard him say “Goddamnit” and the first thing that popped into my head was “What do you keep sending to Hell over there?”

I didn’t say it, but I wanted to.

As I was walking out of class, I thought of the other couple parts.

It was kinda funny.

But seriously?

God’s last name isn’t “Damnit.”

To “damn” something is essentially to send it to Hell.

You cannot send objects and abstract thoughts to Hell.

It just doesn’t work that way.

Sorry, just doesn’t.

There are SO MANY other, less-offensive words you could use.

I made a list of a few as I was leaving school:

  • “Oh no!”
  • “Shoot.”
  • “Darnit.”
  • “Crap.”
  • “Ugh.”
  • other intelligible noises

It’s not that difficult.

I mentioned that (sort of) last night in an online discussion board with my other Comm class. We were supposed to talk about Don Imus and the Rutger’s thing. I mentioned that he should’ve been taking better care of his wording. Like, really? I don’t care if the show is “supposed to be funny.” Calling someone what Imus did was NOT funny, and people should have better control of the connection between their brains and their mouths.

So there’s my rant for the day.

I have to do Stats homework, eat supper, and go to a “concert” at church, and then a quick meeting right after said concert.

“Concert” is maybe the wrong word.

We’re calling it “Coram Deo,” (“in Your presence God”) and it’s kind of like a [Burn Service].

Anyway, that’s tonight. After homework and food, and before a super-quick meeting. 🙂

