In the 15 minutes or so since I turned my laptop off and back on again, I realized that I’d forgotten to [Own My Beauty] today! Well, technically yesterday, since it’s after midnight now.

But oh well.

So here we go, portrait day six:

Hand!

This is my hand.

Obviously.

Hard at work typing this post! Haha. 🙂

On my left index finger, I wear a ring that used to belong to my grandmother.

She died three (almost four) years ago, due to cancer complications.

When we went out for her memorial service, Grandpa told us we could take whatever we wanted.

The ring fit, and I liked it, so I kept it.

But now I’ve realized that it’s more than just liking it and it fitting.

It goes deeper, to being connected to Grammy.

I wear this ring as a reminder of her, her love and laughter, and all the times we spent eating ice cream and all the other fun little adventures we had.

I wear this ring to keep her close, and to remind myself daily of her beauty, both inside and out.

I wear this ring to challenge myself to be like Grammy: kind, thoughtful, funny, generous, loving.

It’s Grammy living in me.

In a way.

I’m keeping her alive by wearing it.

If that makes sense.

Because of her ring, I am reminded of her, and through that reminder, I am challenging myself.

It’s a good thing.

I was sad when she died, but her memory lives on, right?

I’m probably nonsensically rambling because I’m tired and spent like two hours trying to finish math homework.

But you know what I mean, right?

What about you? Is there a family treasure that you hold onto to remind you of someone’s importance in your life?

