Haha. Title of this week’s episode of Glee.

Um, last night at youth group during a little down-time, the JH girls were talking about boys.

One of the SH girls was listening in, from the back of the room.

She said something about how she’s only been on a few dates and never had a boyfriend, or only had one or two.

I piped up with “I’m almost 20 and I’ve never been on a date in my LIFE!”

Because I haven’t, technically.

I was asked by a couple of people if I was dating a guy, but he was just a really good friend. People thought we were dating, and he suggested it, and I thought, “Eh, what the heck? They already think we’re dating.” but … it was awkward.

Anyway, it got me thinking.

The girls all flipped out at me–“NEVER BEEN ON A DATE?”

And the SH girl told me I should be happy with it, or whatever. It’ll come in time.

Now, these JH girls are 12, 13, 14 years old.

Some of them have been asked on dates, and they talk about who’s dating who all the time.

I, on the other hand, have never been formally asked on a date.

My best friend who is currently three hours away has, though!

And I’m super happy for her.

Her boyf is a super nice guy.

I’m kind of trying to convince myself not to start planning the wedding. ;P

Anyway.

No dates or boyfriends for me.

And I’m not terribly ashamed of it.

I get frustrated once in while, a bit jealous (watching the friend and her boyf last weekend made me a bit jealous, and I’m not afraid to admit it), but then I remind myself that sooner is NOT always better than later.

And besides, when I was in Junior High or was a freshman in HS, I read I Kissed Dating Goodbye and agreed with most of Mr. Harris’s stance.

When I was in Junior High (even before that) and throughout high school, I had a few crushes—still do, kinda (*cough* Dr. Spencer Reid…). But I’m not the dating type. At least not by the world’s version of dating. I’d rather just hang out, make fun of each other, that kind of stuff. I couldn’t care less if we go to a movie or out to eat. I just wanna get to know the guy!

When I feel especially crappy, I turn to Song of Solomon 2:2 and 4:7, to remind myself of the promises there.

After all, that’s pretty much the point of this blog: seeing myself as beautiful in God’s eyes so that I can accept things like “You’re beautiful” from people—particularly whatever special guy God has in mind for me. 🙂

Ramble much?

Haha.

But I wanted to let it out, since I was thinking of it.

