I’m on [Operation Beautiful]!

(I hope that link works. WordPress gave me a new box for hyperlinking, and I’m confused. If not, http://www.operationbeautiful.com will do it.)

I left that note a couple of weeks ago, after a test. Eck.

FLAWLESS FRIDAY.

I find it appropriate (and perhaps a bit of a God thing) that my note ended up on OB on a Friday.

Thank You, Jesus, for Your awesome timing. 🙂

I am flawed.

So is everyone else.

But we learn to work through those flaws, right?

Wanna know what I find flawed about myself?

Well, you don’t get to know.**

Because that is Negative Self-Talk.

And that, my friends, is not what we should be focusing on. (Why do I feel like Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka? “That, my dear children, is cannibalism, and is in fact frowned upon in most societies.”)

Instead, we should be focusing on positives.

I heard once that for every negative thing you (or someone else) says about you, it takes five (or more) positive things to counteract that single negative.

Isn’t that crazy? It takes  FIVE positives (I think it was five) to counteract ONE negative thing.

So if I said something negative about myself, I’d have to counter it with five positives.

But you have to be sincere with your positives.

Which is hard for me, because I have to have other people’s approval. I have to know that someone else thinks the same about me before I can say it.

Does that make sense?

Like, I can’t just flat-out say “I’m a nice person.”

My brain will shoot that down with reminders of times I haven’t been nice.

I have to hear it from someone else for it to be true.

Which is sad, but I think it happens to a lot of people: our self-worth comes from other people (or things) rather than from ourselves (and, in my case, God.)

It’s time we changed that.

What about you? Does your self-worth come from within, or do you look to people and things and abstract concepts and feelings for validity? What can you do to change that?

**I almost listed them. Then I decided that that would’ve made me sad. And I don’t need more sad.

