Tags

, , , ,

So, remember my [not-so-happy day yesterday]?

I left something out.

I meant to share it, and then didn’t for some reason.

So I’ll share it today! As part of Flawless Friday!

(PS: I made myself a banner for FF. Click the photo to see the original. I -heart- Picnik.)

 

Flawless Friday!

 

While at the dentist, the “technician” (a woman who goes to our church whom I enjoy very much!) was asking me about life and such.

She asked about school, about J, you know—the usual conversational stuff.

But then she asked me if I have any friends my age with whom I can fellowship.

Um, no, not really.

Her response was something like, “So I guess that means you don’t really feel part of the youth group anymore?”

I almost cried.

Truth is, she’s right.

I don’t  feel like part of the group anymore.

And it sucks.

I’m the only college kid who attends church regularly.

I don’t feel like the JHers necessarily need me. (Although one of them hugged me Wed night before I went home!)

I don’t always feel like YP needs me.

I don’t feel welcome, in a sense much at all anymore.

When I was in junior high/high school, even when I didn’t feel like I fit in, I knew I was part of the group. I was a junior/high schooler, and I was involved in the youth group. I was part of something.

Now, as the only regularly attending college kid… it’s hard. I don’t really feel like part of the group anymore.

And I don’t feel like much of a leader, either.

It’s hard, this transition from teenager to not-a-teenager (I’ll be 20 in a couple of months).

It’s a tough position to be in: I’m still a student, and yet I’m given somewhat of a leadership role?

I mean, I took it on ecstatically this year (as opposed to last year, when I just did it to stay involved), but I’ve gone a little downhill lately. Hearing it from another person made it sink in a little more, I guess.

Come to think of it, I emailed YP (a long time ago, back when I emailed him like once a week) about this very problem: transitioning from student to leader while still being a student.

It stinks, feeling this way, and I hate crying, but right now I’m even MORE emotionally screwed up than usual, so I’m feeling like crying at every little thing.

-sigh- I guess that’s what I get for being a girl, huh?

But on the plus side, I suppose today’s [Month For Others] “Random Act of Kindness” has been done!

Ironically, it was to the lovely lady who started the MFO challenge.

Bad morning for Tina + encouragement from Becca (and others!) = happier Tina = happier Becca!

So I guess it’s kind of a cycle: doing something nice for someone else makes you feel a little better, too!

So what are you waiting for? Get  in on the cheer-up-ing! So something nice for someone else. I promise it’ll brighten your day a little. 🙂

