[Jesus – Others – Yourself]

—-

But also, as dictionary.com puts it:

noun

1. the emotion of great delight or happiness caused by something exceptionally good or satisfying; keen pleasure; elation: She felt the joy of seeing her son’s success.

2. a source or cause of keen pleasure or delight; something or someone greatly valued or appreciated: Her prose style is a pure joy.

3. the expression or display of glad feeling; festive gaiety.

4. a state of happiness or felicity.

Unfortunately, there are things out there that can steal our joy, our elation, our happiness.

We talked about three of the “Top Ten” in youth group tonight.

The bolded stuff is my thoughts. Anything that’s normal font is what I wrote down, basically. 

10. Resentment

That is, allowing bitterness to develop in your heart.

Or, as dictionary.com puts it:

noun

the feeling of displeasure or indignation at some act, remark, person, etc., regarded as causing injury or insult.

Characteristics of resentment include being unforgiving and having a negative attitude.

The soluion/remedy, you ask?

One word. Four letters.

LOVE.

Hebrews 12:14-15

Ephesians 4:31-32

1 Peter 2:23

Luke 23:34

Romans 12:14-21

Psalm 91:3

Fear was also mentioned. I wrote down “Fear consumes us and makes us want to hide in a corner.”

YP read a story about three-year-old Brandon, who knew his daddy loved milk with his chocolate chip cookies. Brandon goes and essentially destroys the kitchen in his effort to bring his daddy a glass of milk, while his daddy watches the process. Finally, Brandon ends up spilling milk all over the living room, including his daddy. He looks up at his daddy with one of those “what are you going to do to me” expressions, but Daddy just smiles, hugs Brandon, and says “This is my son, whom I love.”

I wrote “*It doesn’t matter what you’ve done.*”

I also jotted down “Hold Me” ; Casting Crowns ; Tenth Avenue North

because they are songs or groups who sing songs that remind me of this concept of “No matter what.”

“There’s forgiveness and a second chance.”

“When my world is shaking, Heaven stands. When my heart is breaking, I never leave Your hands.”

9. Judging others OR yourself

Characteristics of judment include thinking that you know what is best for other people, and being hard on them or yourself. People who judge are quick to speak, quick to offer opinions, typically unaware of the real situation, and can’t see other people because their noses are too far above everything.

The remedy to judging?

OBSERVATION.

At this point in the evening, we did a group activity where we looked up verses about judgment and answered questions pertaining to said verses.

If we judge others, it must be done with discernement. OBSERVE before you JUDGE. How do we often judge others according to John 7:24?

By appearances. (We also judge situations, too.) “First impressions” and all of that.

What does this verse mean? Matthew 7:1

If you judge others, you will be judged, too.

Matthew 7:2-5 is saying what in your own words?

Don’t be a hypocrite. Look at your life before you judge someone else’s. Nobody’s perfect. Not you, not I, not anyone here on Earth. Don’t expect perfection, because you ain’t gonna find it.

Matthew 18:15-17 tells us how to handle one who sins against us.

Basically, go up the chain of command! Start privately. If that doesn’t work, brign one other person. If that doesn’t work, bring it to the church. If that fails… you’re done.

James 5:20 shows us that helping someone and not judging others does what?

Saves them from death.

Eph 4:15 encourages us to do what instead of judging?

Speak the truth in love.

What is the difference between judging “sin” and correcting others?

It’s based on the Truth, not your own opinion(s).

YP talked about how one of his camp leaders used to say that if you were angry or frustrated, “Put a loop in it!” 

Before you speak, take 10 seconds to stop, breathe, observe, and think. This usually leads to productive, God-honoring comments instead of hurtful ones.

This one really hit home for me, because I am incredibly judgmental, both of others and of myself. I’m way too hard on myself. I need to lighten up and focus on positives.

8. Physical discomfort.

Symptoms? Knots, racing heart, headaches, exhaustion, wearing other people’s yokes along with your own, and manourished spiritual life.

Matthew 11:30 — Give it to God.

Remedy? Enjoy life! Chill out. Take a step back. Breathe.

As Tenth Avenue North would say, “Let it go!”

This one also hit me, because I am such a worrier. I need to learn to step back and let God take control.

These are just three of the Top Ten things that rob us of our joy. I’m looking forward to learning about the others!

Today’s [Month For Others] Random Act of Kindness?

Suggesting that “Momma” give her second cheeseburger and half of her fries to YP, because I’ve heard him say that sometimes he doesn’t eat much on Wednesdays. She was going to give it me, but I’d just eaten and suggested she give it to him, and she hands it to me and goes, “Go find him! :)” So I did. 😀

