Tags

, , , ,

JUST FYI: if you’ve had anything to do wtith abortion (like, had one) and or can’t handle graphic photos, I’d recommend you skip this post.

I “like” (or “am a fan of”; whatever) [Abort73.com] on Facebook.

Today I was informed that they have a new shirt—or at least a shirt I’ve not seen before.

Trees Aren’t the Only Things Worth Saving pro-life T-shirt from Abort73.com
Trees Aren’t the Only Things Worth Saving

(Click photo for source.)

I don’t remember when I found Abort73, or how, but I love it.

Contrary to what the site’s name may imply, Abort73 is NOT a pro-abortion site.

They are a site that shares the truth about abortion.

The 73 in the name refers to January of 1973. Check out the January 1973 video on the homepage for that story.

Abortion is a hard topic. But it’s one that needs to be addressed.

A73 reports that, and I quote, “The number of induced abortions declined worldwide between 1995 and 2003, from nearly 46 million to approximately 42 million. About one in five pregnancies worldwide end in abortion.” (Emphasis my own doing.)

This makes me sad.

One fifth of all pregnancies WORLDWIDE end in abortion.

It tears me apart, knowing that people would kill a PART OF THEM.

Here’s why:

  • On average, women give at least 3 reasons for choosing abortion: 3/4 say that having a baby would interfere with work, school or other responsibilities; about 3/4 say they cannot afford a child; and 1/2 say they do not want to be a single parent or are having problems with their husband or partner (AGI).

Less than 1% (ONE PERCENT) of abortions are due to rape. I don’t remember exactly which page I got the statistic from, but you can look it up yourself if you like.

Part of the reason abortion holds such a place in my heart?

[I was born early.]

I was born at just 28 weeks.

Full term is anywhere between 37 and 40 weeks.

I was early. Supposed to be born in June, but showed up in March.

That’s three months early, just six months into Mom’s pregnancy.

I could’ve died.

My parents could’ve chosen to give up hope that I would survive.

But we fought.

And here I sit, typing this.

I didn’t have a choice.

My parents did.

And they chose to believe that even though I was tiny and needed a lot of care (I stayed in the hospital for 90 days and then had a heart monitor after I came home), I would make it.

And I did.

I love Gianna’s story.

Gianna Jessen is a survivor.

She survived a saline abortion.

Check out her story (and her speech in Australia) on YouTube: [Part One] and [Part Two].

It says “Born during a saline abortion” ON HER BIRTH CERTIFICATE. The abortionist has to SIGN her birth certificate.

I love that.

I loved one quote so much that I Picnik’d it:

LOOOOOOOVE this quote.

To go back to A73, check out [this page] if you dare.

When I first saw the photo of the 24-week fetus, I think I cried.

That was about where I was in development—a little bigger than that.

This is me at one week old:

All pound ten ounces of me.

Actually, according to the back of one photo, I had lost a couple of ounces at this point—was 1lb-7oz.

And here’s another shot, a few weeks later:

Seven weeks old.

This is what the back of this photo says:

New “Preemie” outfit from (family friends). 7 wks old; 5/18/91 
She was born 3 months early at a point when some people still abort.

This is me at 5 months old:

Happy, smiley baby girl.

There isn’t a weight listed on the back of this photo, but I’d gained enough that I was allowed to go home. On the next photo in the album, though, there’s a weight + date listed! Three months after I was born, on June 30th, 1991, when I was SUPPOSED to be born (our photos are a little out-of-order…), I was only 4 and a half pounds. And yet I was home. Happy, healthy, and home.

So you see, abortion weighs heavily on my heart.

I was born at a time period (right at the beginning of the final trimester) when some people still choose to abort their babies.

There is no denying that a fetus is a human being. If it looks like a person and moves like a person and sounds like a person, IT’S A PERSON ([ducks], anyone?). I don’t care if you think a baby has to be outside of the womb breathing before it’s considered a person. That’s not my stand. And it’s not [God’s] either.

I know this post is sort of all over the place, but… oh well!

