Tags

Flawless Friday!

So, it’s been a while since I’ve done a Flawless Friday post, huh?

Well, I’ll get back into it now! I actually have something to talk about… ;P

In our house, we have a plaque that says “Little things can often be the biggest things in someone’s day.”

How true this is!

I know that little things often turn my whole day around—hopefully for the better!

Last night’s little things were band practice and Twitter.

Today’s little thing was being tagged in a friend’s Facebook note.

A note in which my friend detailed the goings-on in her life since her last note.

She talked about how she’s been trying to trust God, but recently came to the realization that she hadn’t been.

It made me think. I do that…

I was surprised that I’d been tagged, as well. I mean, I rarely ever talk to this girl (we met at Bible Camp in ’07 or ’08), and she’s tagging me in a note?

Probably had something to do with the fact that I commented on her previous “this is what’s happening in my life” note.

She thanked those of us tagged for our prayers.

That was a slap in the face.

I told her I’d be praying for her. And I did. Probably once, the day I was tagged in the note.

I didn’t pray for her after that. I kind of forgot about the situation.

That realization makes me sad.

I need to be praying for people ALL THE TIME. If I tell them I’m going to pray for them, it has to be more than just once after they tell me what’s up.

I think the Bible says something about praying constantly, and I’ve neglected to do that.

Psalm 55:17 & 1 Thessalonians 5:17. And Paul says somewhere that he is constantly remembering his brothers and sisters and thinking about them. I don’t remember where it it, but he says it someplace.

But I don’t. I don’t even think about other people.

I’m constantly thinking about myself.

Sure, I think about others—when they tell me they’re having an issue, or when I read it on Facebook.

I send up a quick prayer, and it’s over. I don’t come back to it. It’s a “do it once and it’s done” kind of thing.

Today, that changes.

Today, I pledge to make a better effort to pray constantly for others. Not just the day they tell me they’re struggling, but constantly. Day after day. Whether they ask for prayer (again) or not.

How about you? Do you ever tell someone you’ll pray for them and forget about it? Is that something you want to work on?

