Alliteration FTW. 🙂

Anyway.

Yesterday at church the sermon was on fasting.

Most of us think of fasting as food-related, not eating anything for a while.

Or as just a Lent thing, giving up something for 40 days.

But it’s more than that.

Fasting is the spiritual discipline of denying our natural appetites, which focus on us, in order to develop our spiritual appetites, which focus on God.

Matthew 6:16, Mark 2:20

1. Spiritual hunger leads to fasting.

Jehoshaphat hungered for clarity.

2 Chronicles 20:3

Esther hungered for courage.

Esther 4:14, Esther 4:16

Joel hungered for a breakthrough.

Joel 1:14

Isaiah 58:6-9

2. Fasting leads to spiritual hunger.

Matthew 4:3-4, Matthew 6:33

There are a lot of things to fast from: TV, websites, foods (specific foods or food in general), habits.

One thought struck me while the pastor was speaking: [Fat-Talk].

So many of us engage in Fat-Talk. Daily. Sometimes without even realizing it.

So here’s what I propose.

Our pastor invited (or, challenged) us to fast from something for the next three days—Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.

I chose Facebook, as a precursor to Lent. I was thinking about giving up Facebook for Lent, and figured a three-day trial could be a good idea.

But I’m also going to try to fast from comparing myself to others, and putting myself down. In other word, fast from Fat-Talk.

I’d like to invite you to join me in this endeavor: make a conscious effort over the next few days to stop Fat-Talk in its tracks.

Will you do that?

For the next three days, fast from comparing yourself to others and being negative about yourself.

Let’s see what happens.

🙂

 

operationbeautiful.com!

Click images for sources.

