Prom.

click for source

Derived from the French promenade.

You might be wondering why I’m thinking about Prom.

Simple.

My sister went shopping today.

For a Prom dress.

(What’s ironic about this is that until…oh, this school year, she’s HATED dresses.)

She’s a Junior, going with her Senior boyfriend.

I have no problem with this.

The dress is pretty (blue, with a sequined-y strap). I don’t know how much it cost, but it’s pretty.

Her boyfriend is a good guy.

Prom is in like three months.

I never went to Prom.

Never went to school dances period. Except for that one end-of-school dance in Junior High, and that was because my friends and I had signed up to play soccer but the field was wet and they were in flip-flops and didn’t want to play, and the other activity was full, so we went to the gym instead.

Anyway.

The only time I was asked to go to Prom was probably out of pity.

My three best friends got asked to go to Prom with a group of about three or four other girls.

They were asked probably a week before Prom, which meant they had very little time to get dresses and stuff. (But they did it, and looked lovely.)

The group they were going with told me literally about two days before Prom that I could go with them if I wanted.

I told them I couldn’t go because I had to work.

This was true. My coworker and I ended up working for the other two part-timers because they were going to Prom.

The girls who asked me were like, “Oh, that sucks.”

No, actually, it didn’t.

I don’t remember if I said it or not, but I was thinking, “I’d rather be working.”

The truth is complicated, but it boils down to this:

1)      I hate crowds. I’m much better in one-on-one situations, and even then it’s weird. And I wasn’t a fan of my high school. Hang out in a crowded gym with a couple hundred kids I barely know? No thanks.

2)      I don’t dance. Unless I have to or am in some sort of mood.

3)      I don’t (or didn’t at the time) enjoy staying up late. I was one of those people who hated being out past about 10 or 11 unless there was a very good reason. Prom was not a good reason.

4)      I’m not much of a dress person. I could barely get myself to wear a skirt on Graduation day, for crying out loud.

5)      I don’t want to spend that much money on one night. Lame. And who knows? In ten years, you might not even still talk to the person (or people) you went with. It’s not that important of an event.

6)      But there’s also the fact I’m incredibly self-conscious and have pretty low self-esteem. I didn’t think that I would look good in a Prom dress. I didn’t think I was worth the time, money, and effort put into finding and buying a dress. The one dress my BFF M made me try on? Hated the whole experience. And couldn’t get the stupid thing off.

I think what it ultimately boiled down to was fear.

Plus I thought the whole concept was stupid and pointless and I probably had more fun at work than I would have at some stupid dance.

And my parents took me out for pie after I got off work. 🙂

What about you? Did you go to Prom? Did you enjoy it? Do you still talk to the person/people you went with? Or was it a waste of time and money?

