Tags

, , , , ,

I started this post at lunchtime, and then got distracted by a friend who decided to eat with me. Then I went to my next class, only to find out that it was cancelled. This morning, before I even got to school. I could’ve gone home right after my first class if I’d come in through the door near my second class. And not spent $7 on lunch. But I did, and ended up hanging out at school with two classmates talking until class would’ve ended anyway. Woot. Okay, now for the actual post…

First off, Happy St. Patrick’s Day! To anyone who celebrates. Haha.

I’m Irish, or at least partly, but St. Pat’s has never been that big of a thing in my family…

Oh well. 🙂

Click for source

LOL! 🙂

Aaaaaaand… onward to Day 17!

Day 01 → Something you hate about yourself.
Day 02 → Something you love about yourself.
Day 03 → Something you have to forgive yourself for.
Day 04 → Something you have to forgive someone for.
Day 05 → Something you hope to do in your life.
Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do.

Day 07 → Someone who has made your life worth living for.
Day 08 → Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like ****.
Day 09 → Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.
Day 10 → Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.
Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on.
Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on.
Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough *** days. (write a letter.)
Day 14 → A hero that has let you down. (letter)
Day 15 → Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it.
Day 16 → Someone or something you definitely could live without.

Day 17 → A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.
Day 18 → Your views on gay marriage.
Day 19 → What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?
Day 20 → Your views on drugs and alcohol.
Day 21 → (scenario) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do?
Day 22 → Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.
Day 23 → Something you wish you had done in your life.
Day 24 → Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)
Day 25 → The reason you believe you’re still alive today.
Day 26 → Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why?
Day 27 → What’s the best thing going for you right now?
Day 28 → What if you were pregnant or got someone pregnant, what would you do?
Day 29 → Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.
Day 30 → A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself.

This is kinda tricky.

I read a lot.

Not as much anymore, but…

Anyway. When I started thinking about this 30 Days thing back in February, I wrote down ideas of what to answer each day. My answer for today was The Noticer. Or To Save A Life.

The Noticer is really interesting. I got it as a graduation present from a friend, and I loved it.

But the one I want to focus on is To Save A Life.

I know that I’ve mentioned it before (several times!), but it’s an awesome movie, and an awesome book.

Both the book (and the sequel! [Just a link, people. I’m not affiliated with Outreach.]) and the movie challenged me to rethink how I react to other people, and how I judge people. As in, stop judging, because 1) it’s wrong and 2) you don’t know what they’re going through.

It’s a pretty simple concept, really. Every time I read the book(s) or watch the movie, I remind myself that I need to be nicer to people, and stop hiding. We are so good at wearing masks and going through the motions of life that we sometimes lose who we really are, who God created us to be.

Something that YP has said the last couple of weeks has been hitting me: God is pleased so much more with genuine brokenness than with pretend spirituality. I rambled for a few minutes about this to my girls last night at church, about how God would much rather you be totally broken and crying out to Him than for you to just be going through the motions of a relationship with Him, and just attending church and stuff because your parents want you to.

Beautiful the mess we are, the honest cries of breaking hearts.

