Tags

, , , , ,

Just a forewarning: if you are struggling or have struggled with suicide and the mention of things related to or methods of suicide affect(s) you negatively, please don’t feel like you have to read this post. In fact, you may not want to read it.

Flawless Friday!

Yeah, weird post title.

But it’s what’s on my mind (and my heart) tonight.

See, tonight at work I found out that a 9th grade (14 or 15 year old) girl hanged herself earlier this week.

And then when I got home, I mentioned it to my parents, and Mom said that apparently there was another suicide this afternoon.

At work, a friend/coworker said that she’d heard that this girl’s ex-boyfriend (or something) had said he was going to kill himself because she killed herself.

It breaks my heart.

Her Prom date or boyfriend (or whomever) dumped her.

And she was supposedly maybe being bullied.

And so she killed herself.

I don’t know the whole story. There may be more to it.

But it breaks my heart just the same.

People commit suicide every day (I think) for a variety of reasons.

My coworkers both said they’d never kill themselves over a guy.

You don’t know that.

You never know what you’d do. It depends on your mental state.

And the early teens are a crap time.

People are so… cruel, really.

Check out this vid starting at about 15:25-ish until around 17:00 or so. (And actually, check out Kate’s vlogs in general… A little inappropriate at times, but hey. That’s life.) Kate is awesome, and I believe her when she talks about her teenage years being not so great. But it does. get. better.

If you’re someone who’s been struggling with depression or suicidal thoughts or the thought that you’re not worth anything, please.

Please.

Please.

PLEASE.

Know that it does get better.

It can get better.

You are loved.

You are valued.

You are special and cared for and thought about constantly.

There is no one who can take your place.

Take it from me.

I may just be a girl behind a computer screen, but I know. I’ve been there.

And I want you to know that life does get better.

There is hope. Rescue is possible.

Tonight I’d like to offer a Hymn For the Missing, and to let you know that the Best is Yet to Come.

And I’d like to pray for you.

Yes, you. My dear, dear friend.

Father God, I believe that You have a plan for each and everyone of us, Your cherished children.
I believe that You mourn when we mourn, and rejoice when we rejoice.
I believe that You want the best for us.
So I give You my friend.
I pray that You protect them, that You wrap them in Your arms.
I pray that You watch over them and guide them.
I pray that they know that they can always go to You with any issue, big or small.
I pray that they let someone else know that they’ve been struggling: a parent, a pastor, a trusted adult.
I pray that they get help if needed.
I pray that they know that it gets better, and they are not alone.
I pray that they don’t give up, even in the darkest hours; that something will be a light to break through that darkness and lift them out of the pit of despair.
I pray that You fill them with love and light and hope.
Amen.

