Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So, I’ve written half of my History final paper. Erg. It’s due tomorrow, and I don’t really want to finish it. I didn’t want to write it to begin with. And it’s not the greatest paper I’ve ever written. But it’s halfway written.

Now, for my main point.

A few days ago, Heather wrote a post about Prom.

It got me thinking of a couple of weeks ago, when my sister was getting for Prom.

And then today I watched something that reminded me of Prom.

And it reminded me of a conversation that my sister,ย our friend B, and Momma S and I had on Prom day.

I don’t remember exactly how the subject came up; I think we started by talking about B’s ears.

The conversation spiralled into one (albeit brief) about how the actors in most high-school-based TV shows and movies are NOT high school age.

I brought up Glee, and how Chris Colfer (Kurt Hummel) was the youngest and closest at high school age, having auditioned right after graduating from high school.

The rest were older, in their 20s, I’d say, when filming started.

And look at High School Musical—those actors are in their 20s.

Basically, the conversation boiled down to “Having older actors portray high school students messes up high schoolers’ views of how they’re supposed to look.”

I know that having “underage” (like, under 18?) students on-set limits the hours they can work. I think they’re only allowed to be there until a certain time at night, or for a certain amount of hours? I don’t remember, but I think there are rules.

And I know that some high school kids can’t act.

But I know of a lot of younger kids /can/ act (Dakota Fanning, for one—off the top of my head), so I think it depends on the kid. Find the right student, who can act and who’s willing to work weird hours and be homeschooled or tutored on the set, and you could have a really good cast.

And it would give high schoolers a more realistic viewpoint of how they’re expected to act.

What do you think?

Just something that’s been bothering me for a while. I thought I’d share it.

I could also bring up Operation Beautiful…. But I won’t, because I’m in a bit of a hurry. You get my point, though, yeah?

