Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So this morning, I got to hear the sermon twice.

Which is awesome.

That means it stick in my head better. 🙂

Today’s sermon was Part Two of our “Following Jesus” series.

I’m just going to give you the layout of the sermon outline, and add some of my thoughts toward the end.

It’s All About Fishing 

Text from Luke 5:1-11

1. AN AMAZING FISH STORY

2. AN AMAZING CALLING: FISHING FOR PEOPLE

Luke 5:10b
Then Jesus said to Simon, “Don’t be afraid; from now on you will catch men.”

Matthew 28:19-20
Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.

Fisherman = disciple

3. THE KEY TO SUCCESSFUL FISHING: THE RIGHT ATTITUDE

  • UNQUESTIONING OBEDIENCE

Luke 5:4,5
When he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, ‘Put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch.’ Simon answered, ‘Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.’

  • ABSOLUTEABANDONMENT

Luke 5:11
So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him [Jesus].

John 14:12
I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.

KEYS

  1. Go where the fish are.
  2. Go were the fish are biting.
  3. You have to use the right bait.
  4. You need to have the right attitude.

In Luke 5:11, it says everything.

They left their boats, their family businesses, their source of income, their friends, their support systems… And why? “Because You say so, I will do it.”

Did you hear Peter say, “But Jesus, before we go, we need to talk about salary and benefits, and … and what about my retirement account?”

No. No, you don’t see him asking that.

Instead, he just follows Jesus.

Our pastor brought up the verse about hating your father and mother.

When we were going through our “Lenten Reading Schedule,” the youth pastor asked for opininos on this verse.

I told him that my Message Remix Bible used the word “refuse” in place of “hate.”

Basically, if you’re not willing to give up everything (like the disciples):

family, friends, job, etc

…Jesus doesn’t want you. I mean, He does, but you have to be willing to put Him above EVERYTHING else.

Jesus has to come before your family, your friends, your job, etc.

He has to.

If Jesus were standing in front of you right now, this very minute, and asked you to follow Him, would you?

Would you follow Him, even if it meant giving up the safety and security of your home and family life?

Even if it meant you didn’t get to say goodbye to your family and friends?

Because the disciples didn’t get to. It doesn’t say that they ran home quickly to kiss their children or parents goodbye.

In fact, Jesus says the opposite of that in Matthew 8.

When you decide to follow Jesus (with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength, and forsaking all others (why did I quote marriage vows?)), you become a fisher of men.

I will make you fishers of men, fishers of men, fishers of men. I will make you fishers of men if you follow Me. If you follow Me. If you follow Me. If you follow Me. I will make you fishers of men, if you follow Me.

^ That’s a song I learned a long time ago, as a kid, but hadn’t heard for along time until this morning. 🙂

So that’s the sermon. I got to hear it twice, and I’m glad.

Now it’s time to eat and then chill until later when I get to go to a CONCERT!

It’s a bunch of local kids, but they’re still a blessing. They’re all super-talented, and I love them. And I love the ministry, that they can grow in their faith while singing and using their gifts. 🙂 BG is a wonderful leader, and an awesome singer/pianist, too!! She’s perfect for the role of leader. 🙂

