Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, no. Not that.

This.

How exactly DO you figure out if your dreams and goals are from God, or if it’s just something you want?

Well, try this.

In other words, if a dream comes from God, it will be so big in your life that you can’t do it on your own. If you could do it on your own, you wouldn’t need faith. And if you don’t have faith you’re not pleasing God, because the Bible says whatever is not of faith is sin (Roman 14:23).

Or this.

God’s dream also makes a difference in the lives of others.

Whenever God gives you a dream, He places it deep in your heart. The word used in the New Testament for heart is most often kardia, a Greek word that literally means “the real you.” Scripture uses the word heart to mean your internal motivation, your love, and your passions. So when God gives you a dream, He places it in your heart. When God gives you a passion for something, He wants you to go for it because it’s incorporated in your being, not because He’s trying to hijack your life. He doesn’t give you a passion for one dream and then call you to fulfill a life plan that’s completely unrelated. That’s not His character, nor is it good stewardship – and He never wastes the resources He’s created.

I’m not sure if any of my dreams are so big that I can’t do them on my own.

I’m not sure what I want to do with my Media Comm major.

There’s so much I could do.

My mom and I were talking one day about radio.

I love listening to my favorite radio stations and hearing the hosts having fun with each other.

I love that they get to talk to Christian artists. (JEALOUS.)

I love that they’re an encouragement to others.

I love that they get to go on trips like cruises and hang out at musical festivals and stuff.

I’d kind of like to be able to do that.

The only thing is, they have radio stations EVERYWHERE. Like, two of the people I love listening to are stationed in San Francisco. And one of the radio stations is now in New York, or will be shortly.

And a lot of the stuff is pre-recorded, which kind of annoys me…

Oh well.

My parents met at a radio station.

Mom & I had talked about me maybe interning there for a summer…

I don’t know.

I don’t know what I want to do.

Maybe radio is the direction God wants me to go.

You don’t go into radio for the money. You do it because you enjoy it.

I know that I love helping with screen at church.

Maybe I can find a way to do both? After all, radio hosts have relatively flexible hours.

I don’t know.

All I know is that if I continue to feel pulled toward one or the other (I’m really going to miss screen at church come fall!), and I can’t imagine making it work by myself, it may be where God wants me.

So here’s my question: What’s in your heart?

What’s something you want to do so badly that you can’t think of anything else?

What’s something you want to do that’s going to take more than just you to get it done?

Figure that out, and you’ll probably know where God wants you.

For me, it’s stll a struggle. I’m not sure.

I love writing.

I love music.

I want to help people (even if it’s indirectly and I’m not fully aware I’m helping).

I want to show Jesus in everything I do.

I was going through some of my Graduation cards (that was two years ago!!!) the other night. There are about five that I kept out of the bag so that I can look at them whenever I want, and this week I grabbed them. I needed the reminders they hold. I needed the kind words that still make me teary-eyed.

These are these people’s words (bits and pieces of their notes to me), not mine.

From the youth pastors (the “new” one and the “old” one) 

I love your huge heart and your contagious desire to serve!

I am proud of your accomplishments and the woman you’ve become. … I know in Feb/Mar of last year you couldn’t imagine all the things you would have to go through. … but God has been faithful in so many ways hasn’t He? Always remember these times, when times of doubt creep in, in the future. Keep pushing and challening yourself, ou have a great future ahead of you. … I’m excited to see where the future brings you!

This last one is probably my favorite. It’s from a woman I absolutely love, who has been such an inspiration and a role model throughout my entire life.

God has given you a special heart, Becca. I don’t think He made very many like you. I know He has a special plan for your life. Always seek God’s will in all of your decision, and in your in-decisions, and stay the way you are. You are going to do great things.

Best friend L wrote me a very sweet note in the card she got me, too. On the front is a picture of a globe, with Proverbs 3:5-6 underneath it. Inside, L writes that she chose this particularcard “because it has France on it and Proverbs 3:5-6 is so true for your journey to come!” Underneath that her parents (probably her mom) wrote “Remember to take God with you and include Him in all your decisions!”

There were plenty of other cards that were lovely (some really funny), and I’ve kept every single one of them, but these are the few that mean the most to me, because of the personal notes within.

I have a special heart.

I am empathetic. I rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn.

Sometimes I think this trait is a weakness, or is annoying because I cry so easily.

But I see the good in it.

If I use this trait/gift the right way, it may help me connect with others.

It may help me achieve that dream of helping without necessarily knowing I’m helping.

All I know is that my friends think I’m special and that I’m going places, and that makes me happy.

The one thing that is echoed in each of these notes is the notion of trusting God like it says in Proverbs 3.

Trust Him, and you’ll end up starring in what is His perfect role for you.

