Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s this new show on NBC that I just heard about tonight, pretty much right before the first episode started.

I decided to watch it, because I thought it might be interesting.

Here’s someone’s basic summary of the contestants.

I kind of like Samantha, Miles, and Mike.

But anyway.

It’s an interesting show. I’m wondering if it was thought up during someone’s night of watching Survivor, The Amazing Race, and The Bachelor/Bachelorette one right after the other.

It’s not the way I’d want to meet my potential future husband.

Adventure? Sure.

Dangerous Costa Rican waters with someone I’ve just met? Not so much.

It always stinks to be the first to go home, but it would really stink with the way this elimination goes.

Today I found lovely Miss Polka Dot, and spent like an hour or more reading through a lot of her posts.

One thing I loved about her blog was that she shares about her family, and this whole courting thing.

Now, I’ve written about dating before (find that list here, but note that not all of that actually relate to dating, which is weird).

It’s not something I’m in to right now.

Sure, I’d love to have a boyfriend.

Eventually.

I’ve said it before, but I want to be friends with a guy and get to know him really well before I even consider dating him.

My cousin who’s getting married in August met her fiance through mutual friends. They got to know each other that way and started dating and are now getting married.

My BFF K and her boyfriend J met through mutual friends at school. They spent time in groups watching movies and stuff before he asked her out. She said that he mentioned that he’d noticed her toward the end of our fist year of college, but didn’t want to approach her yet because it was almost summer and that seemed silly. Her story of how he asked her out goes something like:

Boy sees girl.

Boy thinks girl is cute.

Boy spends time with girl and friends.

Boy approaches girl, tells her she’s cute, and asks her out.

And the rest is pretty much history.

K and L and I had a short conversation one Sunday after church about how the longer we wait for a boyfriend, the better he’ll be.

I do think that sort of makes sense, if you think about it the right way.

If you’re going about it the right way, preparing yourself and your heart… you know what I mean?

The problem my sister ran into was that in both of her relationships so far, the boys didn’t know what they wanted.

At least, that’s what I’ve gotten out of her. Her first boyfriend broke it off a couple months in because he wasn’t sure what he wanted. Her second boyfriend broke it off about five months in, I think? They started dating in December, and he broke it off maybe a month ago? The key word that I believe my sister used as to why he broke it off was “committment.”

Excuse me?

I know you’re going off to college in a couple of months, dude, but you should’ve thought about that BEFORE you asked my sister out.

That’s why I don’t like dating in high school: you don’t fully know who you are or what you want out of life.

Wait. Wait, wait, wait.

It kind of reminds me of Runaway Bride, and how Julia’s character changes her mind about her favorite way to eat eggs depending on the man she’s with, how she can’t make up her mind until the very end.

That’s not how I want to be.

The trouble is that I’m kind of an indecisive person.

But when it comes to a relationship, I’m pretty sure I know what I want.

…Yeah.

Kind of rambly thoughts, but … that’s me sometimes!

