Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Heh. Alliteration.

I’m doing a little bit of laundry (and by little I mean so small that I put the washer on the “ex-small load” setting) this morning to finish preparing for tomorrow, and I figured while I was waiting for it to finish I’d type a quick sermon and devotional post.

Sunday’s sermon was the second in a series of Idon’tknowhowmany, and it makes me sad that I’m going to miss the rest of them.

But anyway, Building a Life of Purpose.

Our pastor opened the sermon with photos of his sons at a cemetery this past week. Their grandfather died, and they both flew out here (the youngest boy is in another state for college) for the funeral last week.

Pastor said that as he stared at all of those gravestones and thought about the people they represented, he couldn’t help but ask himself: Am I living the life God wants me to live? Am I living a life of purpose?

His points were these:

I. If you don’t understand the purpose of life…

Life seems meaningless.
Eccl. 1:2-4

Life seems tiresome.
Eccl. 1:5-8

Example?: treadmill. Run and run and run, bet go nowhere.

Life seems unfulfilling.
Eccl. 1:8-9

Life seems insignificant.
Eccl. 1:11

II. What is the purpose of life?

Eph. 1:4-5

Eph. 1:10

Life is preparation for eternity!
Eccl. 3:11

III. How do I prepare for eternity?

1. Get to know Jesus Christ.
John 1:12

Not everyone is a child of God.
Wait, what?
See John 1:12: To all who received Him, He gave the right to become children of God.
We are all created by God, but not everyone is a child of God.
(That threw me for a loop, too.)

2. Use your time in view of eternity.
Matthew 24:44
Acts 20:24

Time > money

Pastor talked about using time to honor God, sort of. He mentioned that his youngest son received a plaque at graduation that talks about this:

This is the beginning of a new day
God has given me this day to use as I will
I can waste it or use it for good
What I do today is important because I am exchanging a day of my life for it
When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever

3. Use your talents in view of eternity.
1 Cor. 6:19-20

A lot of people have misconceptions about Heaven. (Apparently this includes me.)
We are not going to sit around on clouds playing harps all day.
Don’t expect to be an angel when you get to Heaven, either. You weren’t an angel on Earth; you’re not going to be an angel in Heaven. Angels are angels and people are people.
Neither are  we necessarily going to be doing our favorite Earthly things all day. He used the example of golfers: they’re not going to play golf all day, every day, on the best golf courses ever.
No. We’re going to be serving God. (Using our gifts for Him.)
Think God expects you to serve in Heaven but not on Earth? Think again.

Are you doing anything in your life right now to use your gifts for God?

4. Use your treasure in view of eternity.
1 Tim. 6:18-19

The youth pastor brought up Matthew 6:19-20 after the sermon. That was the theme verse at a Junior High event last week. (I didn’t go to that one. I should’ve. They went rollerskating. SO COOL.)

And because I can’t remember where exactly in the sermon all of my notes fit, I’m going to put the rest of them here.
(I did screen on Sunday, so I went through the sermon and wrote some notes, but possibly not quite as many as usual.)

A life without purpose is a life not worth living.
No wonder we’ve had so many teen suicides in the last year or so.

Atheistic humanism says you came from nowhere and you’re going nowhere, but for right now, while you’re alive, you have dignity and value.
Um… no. That’s irrational. If you came from nowhere and you’re going nowhere, life is pointless. There is no dignity or value to it.

You’ve heard of the circle of life, yes? It’s a Buddhist concept, and it makes a wonderful Disney song, but it’s not Biblical. Life is linear, headed for a climax.
You were made to last forever. (Eccl. 3:11)
God cares more about preparing you fore eternity than He does about making you happy right here, right now. Yes, He wants you to be joyful and fulfilled, but NOT at the expense of being unprepared for eternity.
This life is the dress rehearsal, the warm-up, for eternity.

~*~

Lucado time!

Perfected
Hebrew 10:17
“[With one sacrifice] he made perfect forever those who are being made holy” (Heb. 10:14).
Underline the word perfect. Note that the word is not better. Not improving. Not on the upswing. God doesn’t improve, he perfects. He doesn’t enhance, he completes….
Now I realize that there’s a sense in which we’re imperfect. We still err. We still stumble. We still do exactly what we don’t want to do. And that part of us is, according to the verse, “being made holy.”
But when it comes to our position before God, we’re perfect. When he sees each of us, he sees one who has been made perfect through the One who is perfect: Jesus Christ.
In the Eye of the Storm

And now I think my laundry is about done! Well, one of two loads. Going to go finish that and run a couple of errands and … probably find food. That might be good.

