Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So Koinonia was amazing.

I wasn’t able to sing for most of it, or do much of anything, because I was too busy crying my eyes out.

They were good tears, though. Tears of realization and kind of surrender too.

One of the songs that really stuck out (I only knew like two of them) was one of the final ones, “What Joy,” based on Psalm 146.

There were three speakers throughout the evening,each sharing their testimony. And the final speaker was the woman who spoke at yesterday’s service.

Something that J (who’s on staff I believe) said that struck me was this: one of the lies he believed that other people tend to believe too is about how to respond to messing up in our Christian walk.

I personally have this thing about dwelling on the past and beating myself up.

J too.

But he said that when you mess up, acknowledge it and move on. Do NOT feel guilty, because that is Satan trying to drag you down. And don’t just ignore it and go on living your life that way. Acknowledge it and move on. Don’t dwell on it.

Something that was said in this morning’s chapel service was also pretty crazy. He talked about Jesus washing the disciples’ feet at the Last Supper.

What I didn’t know was that around Passover time, in addition to walking around in sandals and having dust on their feet, the disciples and Jesus would’ve had to walk through blood.

Remember, at Passover, the people used the blood of lambs to cover their doorways. And also they slaughtered animals at the temple, which was up high. Hence, the blood ran down through the city and people would’ve walked in it. (Gross.)

And when the disciples got to the Upper Room, there was no servant there to wash their feet. (Why, I don’t know.)

Apparently none of them noticed it, or didn’t want to bring it up, because as disciples, though they were at a lower status than Jesus their rabbi, they were not required to wash His feet because that was a job for someone lower on the food chain.

What you need to understand about the dinner table back then was this:

people reclined. There were no chairs. They sat or laid in front of the table. Therefore, their dirty, stinky feet were sometimes right under each others’ noses.

And yet the disciples did not bring up washing their feet.

Jesus knew, though. Jesus took off His robes, thus disrobing Himself from His authority and making Himself a servant. And He washed His disciples’ feet.

Some (if not all) of them did not like this. Simon Peter even protested and told Jesus that he would not allow Him to wash his feet.

But Jesus was setting an example: I wash your feet, and you should wash each others’ feet.

It’s about a lifetime of service, about being others-centered.

J mentioned that the Superbowl of service is learning to wash other peoples’ feet. Everything else is just practice.

When you are secure in your status as a child of God, you serve like Jesus did.

Something happened tonight at Koinonia.

Something that I’ve been waiting for for a very long time.

Toward the end of the night, after communion and speakers and everything, during one of the final songs, almost every hand in that auditorium was raised in praise.

I have been waiting SO LONG for that to happen.

I snapped a photo on my phone and gave it a caption similar to that, and thanking Jesus for it, because I have wanted that kind of an atmosphere for so long.

Each time I went to CHIC, the stadium in which we sang and had our main lesson was PACKED with people who raised their arms and danced and just praised God. And every time I’d come home from that on a high, yearning for that energy to carry over into my church experiences.

And I did get that sometimes, sort of, at my home church. Some Sundays there will be several hands up, and that always makes me smile.

I know, and it was mentioned tonight, that everyone’s style is a little different and not everyone is going to kneel or raise hands or whatever (it took me a long time to be comfortable with raising my arms). But still. It’s incredible to see so many people lifting their arms like that.

Tomorrow starts the first day of classes.

I’m already kind of looking forward to potentially going to the lake with my cousin (to her parents’ house) this weekend.

Both of my roommates are going to be busy, and L will be gone… We’ll see what happens.

I have a couple of stops to make before my class tomorrow, and I have to make sure I can find my classroom… I’m sure it’ll be fine after a week or two, but the first couple of days are always a little stressful.

I think I’m going to head for bed soon… Maybe read until I fall asleep or something.

