Tags

, , , , , , ,

For Tuesday for Bible class, I have to read the following:

Psalm 1-5, 88-89, and 119.
And also about 30 pages in our boring informational book.

Today I’m going to focus on the first two Psalms, parts of which I have already made notes on.

Let’s start with chapter 1, shall we?

Once upon a time, I had this one memorized. When I was on our student leadership team at church in, like, 10th grade, our youth pastor had us memorize various passages (including Romans 12). This was one of them.

I have the first Psalm marked off in sections of which ones we memorized when. (Does that sentence even make sense?)

Psalm 1

I really like the imagery of verse 3. I like the idea of being a tree. I don’t know why, but it’s neat.

click photo for source

I think that verse 6 might be my favorite of the 6, mostly for the first half of it. Doesn’t that seem like a great promise?

Onto chapter two!

Verse 2 is slightly confusing at first, but after I read it a couple of times and checked the note in my Bible, I’m relatively certain that the Anointed One (how my Bible puts it; other translations just say “his anointed”) is probably Jesus?

Because my Bible’s note says this:

The psalm refers to the Davidic king and is ultimately fulfilled in Christ. The English word “Messiah” comes from the Hebrew word for “anointed one,” and the English word “Christ” from the Greek word for “anointed one.”

So that’s most likely Jesus. And the Anointed laughs at the earth in verse 4.

So who’s speaking in verses 7 through 9? The author of the book? My Bible’s notes say that it’s the Anointed One, which, based on the thought from verse 4, should be Jesus. But… the wording changes, so is this person not Jesus? I’m confused.

Verses 10 through 12 are very interesting, especially 12. I really like the last little bit; it reminds me of 1:6.

So that’s pretty much it. If you have your own thoughts on Psalms 1 & 2, feel free to add them!

I’ll hopefully be posting my thoughts on the rest of my assigned chapters like this:

Fri: Chapters 3 & 4
Sat: Chapter 5. I’m also planning to read the chapter in the book on Saturday. Maybe I’ll add thoughts from that.
Sun: Chapters 88 & 89
Mon: Chapter 119

And then starting Tuesday I’ll be reading a new set of things!

Have I mentioned how much I enjoy this class? πŸ˜€

