Tags

, ,

Since a lot of the Psalms are so short, I decided today that I’m going to put the whole passage of each I have to read here, and mark the parts I find interesting. Sound good?

Underlined parts are what I had marked before this read-through; bolded are things I’m marking this time through.

Psalm 3

Psalm 3[a]

A psalm of David. When he fled from his son Absalom.

1 LORD, how many are my foes!
How many rise up against me!
2 Many are saying of me,
“God will not deliver him.”[b]

3 But you, LORD, are a shield around me,
my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
4 I call out to the LORD,
and he answers me from his holy mountain.

5 I lie down and sleep;
I wake again, because the LORD sustains me.
6 I will not fear though tens of thousands
assail me on every side.

7 Arise, LORD!
Deliver me, my God!
Strike all my enemies on the jaw;
break the teeth of the wicked.

8 From the LORD comes deliverance.
May your blessing be on your people.

Psalm 4

Psalm 4[a]

For the director of music. With stringed instruments. A psalm of David.

1 Answer me when I call to you, 
my righteous God. 
Give me relief from my distress; 
have mercy on me and hear my prayer.

2 How long will you people turn my glory into shame?
How long will you love delusions and seek false gods[b]?[c]
3 Know that the LORD has set apart his faithful servant for himself;
the LORD hears when I call to him.

4 Tremble and[d] do not sin;
when you are on your beds,
search your hearts and be silent.
5 Offer the sacrifices of the righteous
and trust in the LORD.

6 Many, LORD, are asking, “Who will bring us prosperity?”
Let the light of your face shine on us.
7 Fill my heart with joy
when their grain and new wine abound.

8 In peace I will lie down and sleep, 
   for you alone, LORD, 
   make me dwell in safety.

Unfortunately I didn’t put a date in my Bible of when I read these passages the first time(s), but I’m pretty sure it was at a point when I wasn’t particularly thrilled about life.

I actually have the first two verses of Psalm 4 highlighted (or rather, the parts I’ve underlined are highlighted in my Bible) because they inspired a song we sometimes sing at church.

Answer me when I call,
God of my righteousness.
You’ve given me sweet relief
when I was in distress.

I don’t remember the rest of it, but it was inspired by Psalm 4.

I really like 3:5 & 6 and 4: 7 & 8.

Also, I finally sat down to listen to my home church’s September sermons. Well, most of hem. I’m planning on going back through them and taking notes to share with you guys.

I miss my church so much. I’m so excited to go back next weekend!

For laughs, this was shared during the service on the 18th.

The one shared at church was a little better, but I can’t find it. The version at church didn’t have the point totals or the final round and the players had slightly different names, but it’s still kind of funny.

