Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This was August 5th’s Max Lucado devotional, but I wanted to share it.

God’s Plans
Psalm 37:4
When we submit to God’s plans, we can trust our desires. Our assignment is found at the intersection of God’s plan and our pleasures. What do you love to do? What brings you joy? What gives you a sense of satisfaction?
Some long to feed the poor. Others enjoy leading the church…. Each of us has been made to serve God in a unique way…..
The longings of your heart, then, are not incidental; they are critical messages. The desires of your heart are not to be ignored; they are to be consulted. As the wind turns the weather vane, so God uses your passions  to turn your life. God is too gracious to ask you to do something you hate.
Just Like Jesus 

This one stuck out to me because it reminds me of these two posts. Oh, and also part of this one. Scroll down to the paragraph about Living the Dream.

How about we check out today’s Max Lucado devotional?

Safe to Believe
Romans 6:5-6 (Message version)
Don’t you love that sentence? “It was the signal of the end of death-as-the-end.” The resurrection is an exploding flare announcing to all sincere seekers that it is safe to believe. Safe to believe in ultimate justice. Safe to believe in eternal bodies. Safe to believe in heaven as our estate and the earth as its porch.  Safe to believe in a time when questions won’t keep us awake and pain won’t keep us down. Safe to believe in open graves and endless days and genuine praise.
Because we can accept the resurrection story, it is safe to accept the rest of the story.
When Christ Comes

 This one is actually kind of special to me right now, with the idea of being able to believe in Heaven.

See, in two days, on the 10th, it will be my best friend’s 20th birthday.

She’s going to be celebrating in Heaven with Jesus.

Because I believe in Jesus and His resurrection and ascension, I believe that my best friend is in Heaven and that someday I will be there with her.

But first I have to fulfill my duties here on Earth as an ambassador of Christ, living each day the way He would like me to and discovering everything He’s got in store for me.

Care to join me on the journey?